National Trust Database - Search Results

Back to search page »
Displaying 1- 1 of 1 record found
Image Name Detail File number Level
95082

Warrnambool Flagstaff Hill Precinct

LADY BAY UPPER LIGHTHOUSE ,  FLAGSTAFF HILL

83-89 MERRI STREET WARRNAMBOOL, Warrnambool City

The Lady Bay Lighthouse Complex was originally built in 1858-9 of basalt quarried on the Salt Water (Maribyrnong) River, Melbourne. The upper tower, chartroom, cottage and privy were originally located on Middle Island, and the lower light was formerly located on a timber tower on the beach. In 1871 the lights were moved to Flagstaff Hill as leading lights for the entry to the treacherous and shallow Warrnambool Harbour. The lower light was placed on a bluestone ... more  
1